Sports: Former Olympian Dilip Tirkey elected new Hockey India President

DN Bureau

Olympian and Asian Games medalist Dilip Tirkey has been elected unopposed as the President of Hockey India, the governing body of the sport in the country. Read more on Dynamite News:

Former Olympian Dilip Tirkey elected Hockey India President
Former Olympian Dilip Tirkey elected Hockey India President

New Delhi: Former India captain Dilip Tirkey, who was the front-runner for the post of Hockey India president, was elected unopposed for the top job on Friday.

Hockey India elections were scheduled to be held on 1 October but the results were declared in advance as there were no contestants for any of the posts, paving the way for the incumbent candidates to be elected unopposed as per the federation's Constitution.

Read also: Sports: ICC chairmanship not in my hands, says Ganguly

Tirkey was elected after Uttar Pradesh Hockey chief Rakesh Katyal and Hockey Jharkhand's Bhola Nath Singh, who were in the fray for the president's post, withdrew their nominations on Friday.

Bhola Nath has been elected unopposed as secretary general. The International Hockey Federation (FIH) has approved Tirkey and his team's appointments.

In a letter, the FIH said that when the number of contesting candidates for any post is equal to or less than the number of posts, they shall be deemed to have been elected unopposed as per election by-laws on the Hockey India website.

"Therefore, we are pleased to observe that the Executive Board of Hockey India stands elected as has been put on the website of Hockey India and that the posts election was unanimous for all posts," it said. (PTI)

Related Stories