UP CM: Yogi Adityanath takes charge of Uttar Pradesh

DN Correspondent

Yogi Adityanath succeeds Akhilesh Yadav for the UP CM chair.

Yogi Adityanath takes oath as the Chief Minister of UP
Yogi Adityanath takes oath as the Chief Minister of UP

Lucknow: Yogi Adityanath on Sunday takes oath as Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh at Lucknow's Smriti Upvan. He is the 21st  Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh succeeded by Akhilesh  Yadav who was the youngest to take charge of Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister chair.

Keshav Prasad Maurya and Dr. Dinesh Sharma were sworn-in as Deputy Chief Ministers.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi along with Amit Shah was also present in the ceremony.

Amit Shah,Nitin Gadkari,Mulayam Yadav,Uma Bharti, Chhattisgarh CM R Singh, MP CM Shivraj S Chouhan & Andhra CM N Chandrababu Naidu, Maharashtra CM Fadnavis, Goa CM Parrikar were also present during the ceremony.


Early Life



Adityanath was born in Garhwal, Uttarakhand in 1972 in a Rajput family, he has received the deeksha of the Nāth tradition of monks. He is the mahant of Gorakhnāth temple since 1994.




Avaidyanath contested most of his elections till 1989 on a Hindu Mahasabha ticket. Only after the two saffron traditions merged that he joined the Bharatiya Janata Party and fought the Lok Sabha elections of 1991 and 1996 from Gorakhpur on saffron party ticket.


Here is the list of 23 elected Cabinet Ministers


Related Stories