President Election: Counting of votes begins in Parliament House

DN Bureau

The counting is taking place in Room No 63 in Parliament House and the result is expected to be declared by afternoon. Read more on Dynamite News:

Counting of votes begins
Counting of votes begins

New Delhi: Counting of votes for the recently-held 15th Presidential election began on Thursday morning with the results of the contest between BJP-led NDA candidate Droupadi Murmu and joint Opposition candidate Yashwant Sinha to be declared by afternoon. 

The counting is taking place in Room No 63 in Parliament House. The immediate precincts of Room Number 63 have been declared as sanitised and "silent zone”.

Only counting officers, officials deployed to assist the Rajya Sabha Secretary General, candidates and one authorised representative of each candidate, observers appointed by the Election Commission and media persons with valid passes are allowed entry into the counting hall. 

Out of 736 electors comprising 727 MPs and nine MLAs permitted by the Election Commission to vote at the Parliament house, 728 (719 MPs and nine MLAs) cast their votes. The total turnout at Parliament House was 98.91 per cent.

The voting took place on 18 July and was completed in a peaceful manner. (with ANI inputs)

Related Stories